Giada won't accept virtual input device

Errors, malfunctions, website typos.
Post Reply
Benjamin
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:36 am

Giada won't accept virtual input device

Post by Benjamin » Mon Mar 02, 2020 3:24 am

Hi there :D, I'm using Giada on Mac.

I've been investigating how to connect multiple live input devices like multiple microphones into Giada so that I can switch between them and sample them them on the fly. However, from what I can see in the config page I can only connect one live input device at a time, and switching requires restarting Giada each time.

I have on my Mac however a piece of software called Loopback made by a company called Rogue Amoeba which creates virtual input devices which allows you to have many individual input devices represented on the system as a single input device, and all these real devices can be switched between without altering the way the system see's the virtual device. Like my system, Giada automatically detected this virtual input device in the config page, but when I tried to connect to it and restarted Giada, an alert box pops up saying "Your sound card isn't configured properly...".

Here is my debug log below. It would be amazing if Giada was able to connect to virtual input devices alongside physical ones. It would be just as great if Giada could connect to more than one physical input device at a time to.

[midiMapConf::read] midimap not specified, nothing to do
[init] MIDI map read failed!
[KA] using system 0x10
[KA] Opening devices 1 (out), 4 (in), f=44100...
[KA] 5 device(s) found
0) Apple Inc.: Built-in Microphone
1) Apple Inc.: Built-in Output
2) CalDigit, Inc.: CalDigit Thunderbolt 3 Audio
3) CalDigit, Inc.: CalDigit Thunderbolt 3 Audio
4) Rogue Amoeba Software, Inc.: Loopback Audio
[KA] rtSystem init error: RtApiCore::probeDeviceOpen: system error setting buffer size for duplex stream on device (4).
[mixer::init] buffers ready - framesInSeq=88200, framesInBuffer=512
[KM] using system 0x1
[KM] 0 output MIDI ports found
[KM] 0 input MIDI ports found
[init] All subwindows and UI thread closed
[init] configuration saved
[init] PluginHost cleaned up
[init] Giada 0.16.1 closed

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Giada won't accept virtual input device

Post by FFT » Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:46 pm

Hi Benjamin! I see you're using Giada 0.16.1, while we have just released 0.16.2 which features - among other things - some important updates to the I/O management. Can you try again with version 0.16.2 and paste here the debug log? Thanks a lot :)

Benjamin
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 2:36 am

Re: Giada won't accept virtual input device

Post by Benjamin » Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:46 am

I just downloaded 0.16.2 and tried to connect the same virtual device. The same alert showed up upon restart and this is my debug log.

[midiMapConf::read] midimap not specified, nothing to do
[init] MIDI map read failed!
[KA] using system 0x10
[KA] Opening devices 1 (out), 4 (in), f=44100...
[KA] 5 device(s) found
0) Apple Inc.: Built-in Microphone
1) Apple Inc.: Built-in Output
2) CalDigit, Inc.: CalDigit Thunderbolt 3 Audio
3) CalDigit, Inc.: CalDigit Thunderbolt 3 Audio
4) Rogue Amoeba Software, Inc.: Loopback Audio
[KA] rtSystem init error: RtApiCore::probeDeviceOpen: system error setting buffer size for duplex stream on device (4).
[mixer::init] buffers ready - framesInSeq=88200, framesInBuffer=512
[KM] using system 0x1
[KM] 0 output MIDI ports found
[KM] 0 input MIDI ports found
[init] All subwindows and UI thread closed
[init] configuration saved
[init] PluginHost cleaned up
[init] Giada 0.16.2 closed


I just did some more research on the virtual input device I'm using, making sure it is only recognised as an input device by the system. According to the system, it is not trying to be an input and an output device at the same time.

Post Reply