[FIXED] Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Errors, malfunctions, website typos.
Post Reply
johan
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:15 am

[FIXED] Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by johan » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:32 am

Hi,
I read about Giada and thought I should give it a try.
but when I start Giada, I get the message:
'Your soundcard isn't configured correctly. Check the configuration and restart Giada.'

I checked the configuration, it reads:

'system: CoreAudio',
'Output device: -no devices found-',
'Output channels:none',
'Input device: no devices found'.

It's not possible to change anything, apart from the buffersize.
I tried with the built-in audiocard, with my external audiointerface and with JackOSX, with both audiointerfaces.

any ideas?

Johan
system os x 10.6.8
Giada 0.5.7

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by FFT » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:41 am

Hi johan, thanks for reporting. This is a very known issue (https://github.com/monocasual/giada/issues/7): the sound system is probably broken on OS X.
Basically Giada is looking for a default sound card number 0 which is non existent. We are working on it!

de_elia_artista
F1 - Bilberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:44 pm

Re: Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by de_elia_artista » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:47 pm

Same problem here on a OSX 10.6.8! Giada looks awesome; fix the sound system! :D
Cheers!

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by FFT » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:41 pm

Don't worry guys, version 0.6.0 will solve everything!

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by FFT » Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:51 pm

Fixed in 0.6.0. We are still facing some garbage text in the device info panel (the "?" button). Feedbacks are welcome.

johan
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:15 am

Re: [FIXED] Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by johan » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:34 pm

yes, sound works now on OS X 10.6.8!

cheers
Johan

hippadipper
F1 - Bilberry
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 06, 2013 5:18 pm

Re: [FIXED] Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by hippadipper » Sat Apr 06, 2013 5:25 pm

have been getting this error for awhile - with version 0.6.2 error has gone away BUT ONLY after I deleted the old .conf file located in:

[user]LibraryApplication SupportGiadagiada.conf

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: [FIXED] Giada on Mac OSx no sound

Post by FFT » Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:50 am

hippadipper wrote:have been getting this error for awhile - with version 0.6.2 error has gone away BUT ONLY after I deleted the old .conf file located in:

[user]LibraryApplication SupportGiadagiada.conf
You're right, because the .conf file contains old setup informations. Thanks for pointing that out.

Post Reply