[FIXED] Visual C++ - Error?

Errors, malfunctions, website typos.
Post Reply
p3t3r
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:26 am

[FIXED] Visual C++ - Error?

Post by p3t3r » Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:04 am

Hi, deardevelopers,

Giada is a tool i've been searching a long time: Very small, easy to handle an not too much "blinkenlights" and "klickibunti"(as we say in german). It runs fine on my netbook (ideapad s10), but sometimes an error occurs. I attached screenshots with the errormessage and the installed c++ versions.

Normally the system runs fine (XP home 32bit, 2 GB RAM, 1.6 GHz), the intel atom-cpu load is permanently below 40%, even when recording samples.

I'll try to fix it by updating C++ (currently 2010 is the highest version). Do you have any other ideas?

Kind regards
Attachments
2013-08-04 03_38_41-Software.jpg
Screenshot from settings - software
2013-08-04 03_38_41-Software.jpg (39.93 KiB) Viewed 4818 times
2013-08-04 03_24_11-Giada - Your Hardcore Loopmachine _ Forum • New features.jpg
Screenshot Errormessage
2013-08-04 03_24_11-Giada - Your Hardcore Loopmachine _ Forum • New features.jpg (130.42 KiB) Viewed 4818 times

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Post by FFT » Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:36 pm

Hi p3t3r, thank you for your interest in the project; "klickibunti" is a very intriguing word!

The best way to debug such errors is to compile Giada from source and run it in a debugger. If you can't do that, I suggest what follows:

* try to figure out if Giada crashes when you do something, such as a click or loading a new sample;
* load a patch, press play and let Giada run for a while without touching it and see if it crashes out of the blue.

Also, upgrading C++ runtime library is another good test. Keep us informed ;)

p3t3r
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 1:26 am

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Post by p3t3r » Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:11 pm

Hi FFT,
i decided to let the computer do the work first and updated to c++ 2012. The issue seems to be solved and the error didn't reoccur, yet.

For other users: It's a good idea to run the vcredist*.exe (which performs the update) in safe mode if it doesnt start to work in normal mode. The updateprocess runs thru within a few seconds.

Thanks for your response on a sunday

p3t3r

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Post by FFT » Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:53 am

p3t3r wrote: i decided to let the computer do the work first and updated to c++ 2012. The issue seems to be solved and the error didn't reoccur, yet.
Good, so the issue is closed. Thanks for your time!

Post Reply