Page 1 of 1

[FIXED] Visual C++ - Error?

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:04 am
by p3t3r
Hi, deardevelopers,

Giada is a tool i've been searching a long time: Very small, easy to handle an not too much "blinkenlights" and "klickibunti"(as we say in german). It runs fine on my netbook (ideapad s10), but sometimes an error occurs. I attached screenshots with the errormessage and the installed c++ versions.

Normally the system runs fine (XP home 32bit, 2 GB RAM, 1.6 GHz), the intel atom-cpu load is permanently below 40%, even when recording samples.

I'll try to fix it by updating C++ (currently 2010 is the highest version). Do you have any other ideas?

Kind regards

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 2:36 pm
by FFT
Hi p3t3r, thank you for your interest in the project; "klickibunti" is a very intriguing word!

The best way to debug such errors is to compile Giada from source and run it in a debugger. If you can't do that, I suggest what follows:

* try to figure out if Giada crashes when you do something, such as a click or loading a new sample;
* load a patch, press play and let Giada run for a while without touching it and see if it crashes out of the blue.

Also, upgrading C++ runtime library is another good test. Keep us informed ;)

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:11 pm
by p3t3r
Hi FFT,
i decided to let the computer do the work first and updated to c++ 2012. The issue seems to be solved and the error didn't reoccur, yet.

For other users: It's a good idea to run the vcredist*.exe (which performs the update) in safe mode if it doesnt start to work in normal mode. The updateprocess runs thru within a few seconds.

Thanks for your response on a sunday

p3t3r

Re: Visual C++ - Error?

Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:53 am
by FFT
p3t3r wrote: i decided to let the computer do the work first and updated to c++ 2012. The issue seems to be solved and the error didn't reoccur, yet.
Good, so the issue is closed. Thanks for your time!