Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Good ideas, proposals, enhancements.
Post Reply
lverona
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:45 am

Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Post by lverona » Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:06 pm

Hey fellas!

In working with Giada, I found that changing the number of bars is very important. This can bring in some cool effects in a performance. So it would be good if the switch would be available right on the main GUI, not in a modal windows, so as to facilitate quicker switches. Like, use "-", "+" for that maybe.

For instance, you play 4/1, 4/1 and then go 8/1 and the second halves of the loops get played, but then you need to switch back to 4/1 right away.

Additionally, while inserting a number is important, would be good to have shortcuts, like buttons, that multiply the amount of bars by 2 and divide by 2. So if you have 4 bars, you can just press "x2" and it will become 8. You press "/2" and it becomes 4 again. In fact, it is this type of control that can be on the main GUI. the rest can be in the modal window.
Last edited by lverona on Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lverona
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:45 am

Re: Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Post by lverona » Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:42 pm

Here's an example where I use this, starting from minute 3:00. I make a mistake in the beginning, but then its ok. You will hear that the phrase is short, short, then I make it 8 bars and the loop plays till the end. Then I go back to 4 bars again. I do this several times and it seems that the melody was written that way although I just play it that way ;)

http://soundcloud.com/louigiverona/minimal-session-2

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Post by FFT » Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:00 pm

lverona wrote:Hey fellas!

In working with Giada, I found that changing the number of bars is very important. This can bring in some cool effects in a performance. So it would be good if the switch would be available right on the main GUI, not in a modal windows, so as to facilitate quicker switches. Like, use "-", "+" for that maybe.
Another good hint! The solution based on multipliers buttons increases the ease of use for sure.
Regardint the minimal session 2, it's an excellent demo track. Honestly I don't notice any mistake. We will publish it in our forthcoming 'media' page, along with 'test drive'. But you already know this :)

lverona
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:45 am

Re: Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Post by lverona » Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:46 am

Hey guys!
You implemented this feature, just tried it out - works great! Thank you very much!

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Yet another small GUI suggestion: number of bars

Post by FFT » Fri Dec 14, 2012 9:55 pm

lverona wrote:Hey guys!
You implemented this feature, just tried it out - works great! Thank you very much!
You're welcome! The beat manipulator is the first step toward a more powerful sequencer, with interactive areas, sub-zones and many other goodies. We'll see ;)

Post Reply