My New Feature Suggestions

Good ideas, proposals, enhancements.
Post Reply
Shabbazz
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:45 pm

My New Feature Suggestions

Post by Shabbazz » Tue Aug 23, 2016 12:49 am

Hi developers, :)

I would like to thank you for this amazing program, its really intuitive to use and mapping my midi controller was as simple as 1,2,3 especially for someone who is new to DAWS.

Some suggestions I have after using the software are as follows.

Mixing

I tried mixing in the software using my laptop and headphones however is it possible to have a feature where you can hear two different channel samples playing from two different output devices? this obviously could be useful when cueing songs ready to mix, I found myself having to guess when the right time it was to drop a song.

A bpm sync button would also be good feature as well although I think this has been mentioned previously.

Making music

Within the actions editor it would be nice to know where the actions are placed for the other channels, maybe like a faded pink rectangle ''hint'' so you can differentiate it from the actions your currently placing. E.g. when editing actions for channel 2, you can see actions you previously placed for channel 1. I would also like to be able to select a group of actions and copy & paste them.

Editing samples

I would suggest being able to select and area of the sample and preview the part. Another suggestion would be including a Tempo% dial along with the Pitch% dial

UI

I really love the clean minimal look its great! however the dark colour scheme can be harsh on the eyes after awhile. Would you consider another lighter theme but with all the same UI layout and display features? this might also be a little small thing but sometimes when I want clear actions I click on the option and the menu goes away even though your supposed to hover over the option and wait for the small pop-out menu its just a habit I have. it would be cool if the menu stays up lol.



A final point I would like to make is i'm running Giada on Windows OS and some strange things happen every now and then. Like when I load FX filters it pops up in the top left corner of the screen and it can't be clicked and dragged around the screen however I can still operate the filter.


Thanks again for the software I really enjoy using it.

Shabazz.

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: My New Feature Suggestions

Post by FFT » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:05 pm

Hi Shabbaz,

Thanks for your loving words and your suggestions!
Mixing
[...] iis it possible to have a feature where you can hear two different channel samples playing from two different output devices? [...]
Sure! This is planned for the future development, as seen here in the "next big features" section.
Making music
Within the actions editor it would be nice to know where the actions are placed for the other channels [...]
This sounds great to me. One question, though: what if you have tons of actions in the other channels? Should there be a sort of filter?
[...] I would also like to be able to select a group of actions and copy & paste them. [...]
Yep, this is another "must" in our roadmap. Copy/cut & paste for everything.
Editing samples
I would suggest being able to select and area of the sample and preview the part. [...]
That's a good idea to add to this issue -> audio preview in the sample editor.
[...] Another suggestion would be including a Tempo% dial along with the Pitch% dial. [...]
I'm not 100% sure about this one; do you mean something like sample tempo?
UI
[...] Would you consider another lighter theme but with all the same UI layout and display features? [...]
Another "daylight" theme would be really handy, especially to increase contrast when needed.

Regarding those strange things happening on Windows: just wait for the upcoming version number 0.13.0, where many similar flaws have been fixed. Thanks again for your feedback :)

Shabbazz
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:45 pm

Re: My New Feature Suggestions

Post by Shabbazz » Wed Sep 14, 2016 2:45 pm

Hi FFT,

Apologies for the late reply,
This sounds great to me. One question, though: what if you have tons of actions in the other channels? Should there be a sort of filter?
Yes, a filter for this would be a good idea to help with arranging. Also an ''undo'' feature will be useful here.
I'm not 100% sure about this one; do you mean something like sample tempo?
Yes, I meant changing the tempo of the sample, you have an option to change the pitch in the sample editor but not for the tempo.

Some extra suggestions

When you clone a sample channel that has been edited, the edit always resets and you have to re-edit the cloned channel. I would like to be able to clone the exact sample and not have to re-edit to match the original.

On the MIDI channel It would be useful to have note preview sounds and be able to drag notes up and down the scale It only can be dragged left or right.

That's it for now lol, Thanks.

Post Reply