The anatomy of dual patch idea

Good ideas, proposals, enhancements.
Post Reply
lverona
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:45 am

The anatomy of dual patch idea

Post by lverona » Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:55 pm

Hey fellas!

So in one of the topics I've suggested a way to seamlessly go from one patch to another. Here is the summary of the idea:
Have patches save only HALF the file slots.

Giada GUI is currently divided into two halves. Because loading takes so much time, it would be great to be able to have two patches on screen. So you can save a LEFT patch, which is 16 left slots, and RIGHT patch, which is 16 right slots.

That would allow to load up patches, while some of the slots are playing and thus enable complex transitions between songs.
Having thought about it more, I decided that this might be such a great thing to have that I decided to spend more time theorizing about how one might organize his patches if such a dual patch idea is implemented.

First of all, if one thinks that 16 slots is not enough, we can save two patches of a song. Say, song name is Only You. If we need more than 16 slots, we can save two patches and name them OnlyYou1 and OnlyYou2.

Second, when we want to transition from one song to another, we can actually make it easier for us to have a patch especially dedicated for that, like OnlyYou_BetterTimes2. That means that we load that instead of OnlyYou2 (while stuff in the first 16 slots continues to play) and it will have some things we have for OnlyYou and some loops ready to introduce Better Times - next tune.

Of course, one can just have a tune playing in all 32 slots if we are doing just a live impromptu mix and then when you want, load a patch with some newer loops and just go on. Typically, I prefer spontaneous music rather than prepared in advance, but I would prepare 16 slot patches with groups of loops, related to each other, say, have a C minor patch and a G major patch and so forth.

Anyway, guys, just trying to show how much power and flexibility this dual patch idea might give!

User avatar
Duchamp
Site Admin
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:42 pm

Re: The anatomy of dual patch idea

Post by Duchamp » Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:50 pm

As I said before, the dual patch is a great idea which will solve a lot of issues! I put down a small use case to see if we grasp the whole mechanism.

use case
Dj XYZ is setting up a performance made of N songs mixed together. The program starts with the song number 1, "Only You" composed of 16 slots, left side.
  • step 1: Dj XYZ loads the partial patch of "Only You", filling 16 slots on the left side. The right side is empty;
  • step 2: he starts playing "Only You" by using all of the 16 left samples;
  • step 3: here begins the transition with the next track "Better Times", composed of 16 slots, right side; dj XYZ loads the partial patch and now all 32 slots are filled.
  • step 4: "Only You" ends (i.e. no more left loops/samples are being played) and dj XYZ focuses on the right side, where "Better Times" was loaded;
  • step 5: transition with song number 3 "Forever", which replaces the slots of "Only You" (no longer used) on the left column.
  • step 6: ... and so on for each song in the mix.
In my opinion, the transitional patch is necessary only because of the limitation of 16 channels per column. We want to overcome that limit as soon as possible, by letting the user to add how many slots he wishes.

lverona
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:45 am

Re: The anatomy of dual patch idea

Post by lverona » Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:00 pm

Indeed. If you have any amount of slots, that solves the problem fully. I did mention this only as a hardcore example though. I think 16 slots for one song in 99% is more than enough, really.

Ben
F6 - Feverfew
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: The anatomy of dual patch idea

Post by Ben » Tue Feb 12, 2013 8:07 am

Just a small thought.
As there is already a possibility to load several instances of giada and given that a feature requests ask for sync between instances, is it still really needed to be able to load dual patches?
The possibilities with several instances are billions. You don't have really to sync, you could load the same project and use slightly different loop lengths or tempo.

Ben

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: The anatomy of dual patch idea

Post by FFT » Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:18 pm

Ben wrote:Just a small thought.
As there is already a possibility to load several instances of giada and given that a feature requests ask for sync between instances, is it still really needed to be able to load dual patches?
The possibilities with several instances are billions. You don't have really to sync, you could load the same project and use slightly different loop lengths or tempo.
Ben
That's a good point. Let's see what happens with two or more instances AND the unlimited number of channels, which is the upcoming feature of the 0.6 branch.

Post Reply