tempo/synchro

Good ideas, proposals, enhancements.
Post Reply
ivo
F7 - Goldenseal
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:00 pm
Contact:

tempo/synchro

Post by ivo » Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:42 pm

- could it be possible to sync 2 (or more) giada ?
- tempo with mouse wheel
- tap tempo
excuse please my english, I'm french ^^

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by FFT » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:01 am

ivo wrote:- could it be possible to sync 2 (or more) giada ?
- tempo with mouse wheel
- tap tempo
At the moment the only way to sync 2 Giada's intances is to set the same bpm on both of them and start - with a bit of luck - the other one at the right time.

The MIDI implementation will take care of that: you configure the first Giada as a Master, which sends the right timing to the Slave.

Anyway the tap tempo feature seems useful if the source doesn't support MIDI - I think of a live performance. I suppose that the tempo with mouse wheel should help to change it quickly without opening the window (correct me if I'm wrong).

Added to the roadmap!

ivo
F7 - Goldenseal
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by ivo » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:26 am

At the moment the only way to sync 2 Giada's intances is to set the same bpm on both of them and start - with a bit of luck - the other one at the right time.
I tried several times and the result is not ok.
no other way instead of midi ?
Anyway the tap tempo feature seems useful if the source doesn't support MIDI - I think of a live performance. I suppose that the tempo with mouse wheel should help to change it quickly without opening the window (correct me if I'm wrong).
Yes.
for 1 and 0.1 bpm
I play live with softwares, without midi ;)
it's the only way to sync and keep the right tempo ...
excuse please my english, I'm french ^^

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by FFT » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:01 am

ivo wrote: I tried several times and the result is not ok.
no other way instead of midi ?
Yes, infact that's a poor - and temporary - solution. With two instances of Giada on the same OS, the MIDI sync would be almost invisible; I suppose you don't even need a physical input/output, just a soundcard. The concept is well explained here, for Ableton Live: sync 2 instances of Ableton Live.

ivo
F7 - Goldenseal
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by ivo » Thu Oct 18, 2012 9:49 am

please don't forget the tempo with mouse wheel .... please ^^

i worked lot of years with midi sync but i (re)discovered with joy playing "on the fly"
hard to choose between sync and freedom :mrgreen:
excuse please my english, I'm french ^^

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by FFT » Thu Oct 18, 2012 12:33 pm

Don't worry, we have stored carefully all of your good suggestions (here). Freedom first :D

danh
F5 - Eucalyptus
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by danh » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:51 pm

I think when implementing better manual synchronisation features, it would also be nice to see "pitch bend" buttons, which change the tempo temporarily while holding them down to move the beats into the right position when thy're slightly offbeat the other sources in your mixer.

ivo
F7 - Goldenseal
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:00 pm
Contact:

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by ivo » Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:58 pm

nice idea ;)
excuse please my english, I'm french ^^

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: tempo/synchro

Post by FFT » Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:39 pm

danh wrote:I think when implementing better manual synchronisation features, it would also be nice to see "pitch bend" buttons, which change the tempo temporarily while holding them down to move the beats into the right position when thy're slightly offbeat the other sources in your mixer.
I agree. In a very short time we will include a new library, libsamplerate, which is the perfect tool to obtain such feature (and many more).
Pitch bend added to our roadmap ;)

Post Reply