[Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Tips, tricks and secret codes.
Post Reply
User avatar
nesbit
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 2:35 pm

[Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by nesbit » Mon May 06, 2013 5:33 am

Hey,
It is possible to use a midi device (such as a launchpad, Midi Fighter, Midi Piano) to trigger samples in giada!

What you need:
-A Midi Controller
-A program that changes its midi signals into keystrokes(such as http://www.charlie-roberts.com/midiStroke/ for mac. Windows http://www.softpedia.com/get/PORTABLE-S ... able.shtml BUT I have not used this DISCLAIMER IT MIGHT CONTAIN VIRUSES although softpedia.com found it safe.)
-Giada

Steps:
1.) Connect your Midi Controller to your computer
2.) Route your midi messages through to keystrokes
http://s9.postimg.org/db4v2mof3/Kes.png
3.) Set up your samples to trigger when a key is pressed in giada.
http://s17.postimg.org/m3n7cnlxb/Screen ... _00_PM.png
4.) Make the keystroke in giada and the midi "keystroke" the same
5.) Play the note/button.
6.) Voila! You are done

If you need any help please comment, and I will try to help as best as possible.
Thanks
Last edited by nesbit on Wed May 08, 2013 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: [Tutorial]Using Giada with Midi

Post by FFT » Mon May 06, 2013 7:43 pm

Two very good ideas here: Midi to keystroke conversion and the tutorial series. We move this thread to the new area.

User avatar
nesbit
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 2:35 pm

Re: [Tutorial]Using Giada with Midi

Post by nesbit » Tue May 07, 2013 3:39 am

FFT wrote:Two very good ideas here: Midi to keystroke conversion and the tutorial series. We move this thread to the new area.
Thank you. I think I might make a video demonstrating giada/midi keystroke ability. BTW does the tutorial make sense to you?

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: [Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by FFT » Tue May 07, 2013 10:39 pm

nesbit wrote:Thank you. I think I might make a video demonstrating giada/midi keystroke ability. BTW does the tutorial make sense to you?
You mean this tutorial in particular? It does make sense indeed, it's neat and easy to follow. Midi input in Giada is still a bit far away so any solution, hint or workaround is welcome.

User avatar
nesbit
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 2:35 pm

Re: [Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by nesbit » Wed May 08, 2013 4:50 am

FFT wrote:
nesbit wrote:Thank you. I think I might make a video demonstrating giada/midi keystroke ability. BTW does the tutorial make sense to you?
You mean this tutorial in particular? It does make sense indeed, it's neat and easy to follow. Midi input in Giada is still a bit far away so any solution, hint or workaround is welcome.
Okay, happy to hear this. On my way of making a video tutorial of giada and the midi keystroke ability.

eddie3000
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 7:51 am

Re: [Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by eddie3000 » Wed May 16, 2018 8:04 am

Great tutorial, seems simple. But in my case there is no way to make it work. I use giada 0.11.2. There is no way I can get midi in or out of giada. What can I be doing wrong?

Thanks.

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: [Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by FFT » Wed May 16, 2018 5:05 pm

Hey eddie3000, I strongly suggest you to upgrade Giada to the latest version (0.15.0 as of this writing): ancient bugs are always around the corner. Then let us know if you still have problems with MIDI I/O.

eddie3000
F3 - Chamomille
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 7:51 am

Re: [Tutorial] Using Giada with Midi

Post by eddie3000 » Thu May 17, 2018 6:05 am

Hello again.

I am currently using 0.13 and linux mint 18.3 and jack 2. I can't get 0.13 to work with midi either. I have tried 0.15, but that one does not produce any sound at all. Every time it starts, regardless of the sound card configuration, it says that the soundcard isn't configured correctly.

With 0.13, giada does work, it also appears in the jack alsa midi connections patchbay, but I can't connect it to anything from there. So I still can't get the midi to work.

Thanks.

Post Reply