Any sound generator for Linux?

Post Reply
mevsme
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 4:29 pm

Any sound generator for Linux?

Post by mevsme » Sun May 01, 2016 5:31 pm

So I guess without LV2 support all we have only using JACK for now, am I right?

I think Giada is awesome though. I really like it's look and feel. Will try to spread it amount my friends :)

ps: a little feedback, no icon in launcher. Dunno, if anybody submitted it.
Image

pps: how gui is made? Does it using some framework? How to make most light weighted not native linux GUI? I am a beginner in codding, have no idea about that stuff, but I don't want try QT, Boost, xWidgets, etc, for now. Can you advice something?

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Any sound generator for Linux?

Post by FFT » Tue May 03, 2016 8:16 pm

HI mevsme,

Thanks for your kind love! You are right: currently Giada supports only VST plugins (on Linux, too). LV2 format is in our wishlist and I hope it will be implemented soon: I look forward to try out the calf suite :D

We use FLTK for the GUI part, which is a freaking fast, lightweight and (most importantly) cross-platform UI toolkit. it's worth checking out.

As for the icon, please feel free to open a bug here in the bug section or on GitHub.

mevsme
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: Any sound generator for Linux?

Post by mevsme » Thu May 05, 2016 11:23 am

What software (bridge software) should I use to run VSTs? Cuz if I scan a folder with VSTs in Giada Plugin's section, it says - there's no any plugins.

mevsme
F4 - Digitalis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: Any sound generator for Linux?

Post by mevsme » Thu May 05, 2016 12:48 pm

Do I need to use some bridge software to make Giada see VST plugins in the VST folder under Linux\Ubuntu?

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Any sound generator for Linux?

Post by FFT » Mon May 23, 2016 10:11 am

mevsme wrote:Do I need to use some bridge software to make Giada see VST plugins in the VST folder under Linux\Ubuntu?
Definitely not, if you are using VST compiled for Linux. You just have to scan your plugins before use. More info in the "Configuration/Plugins" section of the documentation area.

Post Reply