Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post Reply
editech
F6 - Feverfew
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:07 pm

Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by editech » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:15 pm

Hi,

Noob here to Giada. The term midi channel is confusing me on Giada.

I have a complete outboard MIDI setup and looking at Giada as a sampler sound module being controlled via standard 5 pin DIN MIDI using a Pyramid Sequencer. One thing that I can't find is how to assign Giada sample channels to a standard midi channel, 1-16. I have some open midi channels on my sequencer that I want to use.

Any help would be much appreciated.

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by FFT » Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:27 am

Hi editech,

The difference is quite straightforward: sample channels contain audio, MIDI channels contain MIDI messages. Both can be controlled by MIDI devices. For your purposes I'd use sample channels and then drive them with Pyramid: just assign each button/knob of your device to each sample channel - click on a sample channel's main button and select "Setup MIDI input". More info here -> https://giadamusic.com/documentation/sh ... management

editech
F6 - Feverfew
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:07 pm

Re: Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by editech » Mon Nov 07, 2016 6:51 pm

Maybe I'm missing something. Is Giada setup to receive external midi messages from all 16 general midi channels? I don't see a way to specify a general midi channel number (1-16) to Giada's respective midi channel. It looks like Giada's learn feature will receive data from all general midi channels, which would make sequencing in my world impossible. Maybe I'm grasping this concept wrong, but most other software and equipment has an easy way to assign a proper general midi channel to the device or software's track, in Giada's case, a midi channel. Does Giada's learn feature automatically detect the midi channel it's received on?

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by FFT » Sat Nov 12, 2016 6:17 pm

I took some time to delve into the code, and, ...
editech wrote:Is Giada setup to receive external midi messages from all 16 general midi channels?
Yes, I can confirm that: Giada currently grabs any incoming message from any channel, no filtering at all. So if you are sending events on, say, Channel 4, it will learn the message with that information in it. I'm not a 100% MIDI guru (unlike @Duchamp): is that a bad approach? Could you explain your current scenario? Maybe we are facing a good missing feature to add...

editech
F6 - Feverfew
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:07 pm

Re: Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by editech » Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:52 pm

Sure I can explain this. I am using Giada as a sound module to my external midi sequencer, via raspberry pi and Tascam audio interface. I have several other outboard midi instruments, each instrument on it's own midi channel playing their own melody. If I am playing the midi sequencer while loading and configuring samples in Giada, then Giada will get confused and receive midi data across all the channels that are currently playing back from my external sequencer. It would sound like a mess.

My work around would be to use my MIDI patchbay to filter MIDI messages on the actual port down to one channel going to Giada. This is why specifying a midi channel would be important within the software because I only want Giada to communicate on one specific midi channel, eliminating traffic from other midi channels.

MIDI filtering in powerful software like Giada is super important important.

Thanks for listening.

User avatar
Duchamp
Site Admin
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:42 pm

Re: Standard MIDI Channels 1-16 question

Post by Duchamp » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:27 am

New GitHub issue filed here: https://github.com/monocasual/giada/issues/113

Thanks for your precious feedback!

Post Reply