what is giada tested with?

Post Reply
motosega
F8 - Hawthorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:34 am

what is giada tested with?

Post by motosega » Tue May 13, 2014 9:22 pm

can some of the devs list what gear/soundcards/midi controlers/linux distributions they are testing giada with?

this would make it esier for me to report bugs.

for instance i'm suspecting that the midi features have been tested with a midi controller that has lights on and does its own latching (like a launchpad, or novation dicers.)

and i'm noticing a few bugs in jack that would have been ironed out pretty quickly with a bit of testing.

this will help me to have an idea of what has been tested more and what less. i will then hammer away at the things that are diferent untill we get rid of all the bugs that show up.

thanks!

User avatar
FFT
F14 - Syrian Rue
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:51 pm

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by FFT » Sun May 18, 2014 7:52 am

Good question. Our tests are pretty "minimal" these days, since we are working on the GUI part and on a complete refactoring of the website. In general we build Giada on Ubuntu 12.04 and 14.04. Crappy integrated soundcard + M-audio Fast Track Pro USB. AKAI LPD8 as a MIDI controller. Jack audio version 1. More serious unit tests are coming.

User avatar
The Lo-Am Allstars
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:44 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by The Lo-Am Allstars » Sun May 18, 2014 7:57 am

Hi, not a dev, just a lurker. I run giada fairly regularly on 3x different setups - home, laptop and portable, all Windows Vista or 7.
Home setup has a PCI soundcard - M-Audio Audiophile 2496. I roll dirty-cheap, so midi devices thus far are those korg nano series, a nanopad and nanocontrol.
Also started testing midi sync with a gameboy and midi-to-gb adapter cable, but a soldering incident has limited that somewhat.
...as always, feel free to smack me down if I've missed something obvious.

motosega
F8 - Hawthorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:34 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by motosega » Wed May 21, 2014 1:14 pm

i suppose i should really put my configuration in this thread!

my computer is a crappy 1.6 ghz atom netbook, asus eeepc901 running avlinux 6.0.3(32bit debian based distro).
giada seems to run quite well, but i haven't tried vst effects or running loads of loops at the same time.

my soundcards are a mixvibes umx44 usb soundcard and a behringer bcd3000.

jack 1 for audio.

m-audio trigger finger for midi control. (continuous controllers work, the pads don't (yet))

User avatar
The Lo-Am Allstars
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:44 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by The Lo-Am Allstars » Sun May 25, 2014 5:14 am

I dunno if this relates to whatever problem you're having with the pads on the triggerfinger, but with the nanopads, I assigned them by clicking 'key press', pressing down on the pad (which assigns it a value) then with the pad still held down, clicking 'key release' and releasing the pad (which assigns it a similar-but-not-identical value).
...as always, feel free to smack me down if I've missed something obvious.

motosega
F8 - Hawthorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:34 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by motosega » Sun May 25, 2014 10:34 pm

thats really interesting ......

can you post a log of the messages from Giada when you assign the pads? maybe I'm using different note values.
also a copy of your bank file from the korg midi editor would be helpfull, (I'm. on Linux but the Korg nano editor works perfectly under wine)

I'd be really happy if the problem is with my configuration, then I'll. stand a chance of sorting it out quickly!

User avatar
The Lo-Am Allstars
F9 - Lavender
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:44 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by The Lo-Am Allstars » Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:11 pm

Uhrrr, I'm not a programmery type, bit of a nubcake actually. I've got as far as midi-ox, but so far the recorded results of my testing have mostly just been actual recordings :/
How would I capture data outgoing from Giada? Would I be downloading the source and opening it in CodeBlocks or similar? I'm mostly computer literate, so if you walk me through it I can probably struggle along.
Anyhow, in absence of anything else helpful, I've attached the data set from the nanopad - i've got the extension .txt on the end of it so the forum would think it's an allowed file type.
Attachments
current.nanopad_set.txt
nanopad set
(1.09 KiB) Downloaded 671 times
...as always, feel free to smack me down if I've missed something obvious.

motosega
F8 - Hawthorn
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 9:34 am

Re: what is giada tested with?

Post by motosega » Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:52 pm

thanks, i can probably figure it out fronm the nano pad settings.i have the nano editor installed since i have a nanokontrol. it should let me see what notes the pads are configured to send.

i imagine you are on windows. because otherwise you'd already be seeing the console output.

a log from midi ox would be fantastic though,
just set it to log midi in, plug the nano pad into it and hit some pads.

Post Reply